Schedule of playdates | Dulaang UP’s The Duchess of Malfi

In case you didn’t know, Dulaang UP will stages John Webster’s The Duchess of Malfi on September 11-29, 2013 at Wilfrido Ma. Guerrero Theater, UP Diliman . This is one of Webster’s works and the most gripping of the Jacobean tragedies.

The play is about the the story of a recently widowed duchess as she decides to go against her scheming brothers by secretly marrying her personal steward. The discovery of her deception engulfs everyone in a tumultuous and maddening whirlpool of envy, incest, greed, destruction, and death. The characters’ struggle for and against their desires forces us to ask ourselves, “How far will we go for pleasure?”

DUP’s production also features Ang Dukesa ng Malfi as translated into Filipino by Palanca awardee Allan Palileo. The play is adapted and directed by theater icon and DUP Founding Artistic Director Tony Mabesa, well known for his staging of world and Filipino classics.

New York-based Obie award winner Clint Ramos and Eric Pineda collaborate for the set and costume design respectively; Choreography by Peter Alcedo, Jr., Lights design by Meliton Roxas, Jr., and Sound design by Jethro Joaquin.

Here are the playdates of the play:

September 11, 2013 (Wednesday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 12, 2013 (Thursday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 13, 2013 (Friday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 14, 2013 (Saturday) – 10:00 a.m. ; 3:00 p.m.

September 15, 2013 (Sunday) – 10:00 a.m. ; 3:00 p.m.

Second Week

September 18, 2013 (Wednesday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 19, 2013 (Thursday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 20, 2013 (Friday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 21, 2013 (Saturday) – 10:00 a.m. ; 3:00 p.m.

September 22, 2013 (Sunday) – 10:00 a.m. ; 3:00 p.m.

Third Week

September 24, 2013 (Tuesday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 25, 2013 (Wednesday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 26, 2013 (Thursday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 27, 2013 (Friday) – 7:00 p.m.

September 28, 2013 (Saturday) – 10:00 a.m. ; 3:00 p.m.

September 29, 2013 (Sunday) – 10:00 a.m. ; 3:00 p.m.

For more details, you may call 926-1349/981-8500 loc 2449, Fax: 433-7840. Regular ticket price: 350 pesos.

by Eccentric Yet Happy