The Department of Education (DepEd), in partnership with the Metrobank Foundation, commended the awardees of the 2013 Metrobank Foundation Search for the Outstanding Teachers on September 9 during DepEd’s weekly flag-raising ceremony. 

“Mahalaga na ang ginagawa ng ating mga guro ay nakikila ng mga tao sa labas ng kagawaran dahil ito ang patunay na hindi naman pala nawawala ang mga pagpapagod ng ating mga guro. (It is important that what our teachers do be recognized outside the Department, because this signifies that their efforts are not wasted),” Education Secretary Br. Armin Luistro FSC said.

Luistro explained that Metrobank Foundation, as a private institution, recognized the dedication and commitment of the educators to their profession. More than the exemplary teaching, one of the crucial criteria in selecting the outstanding teachers is the relevance of their service in nation-building.

“Hindi lamang ito patungkol sa classroom. Makikita nyo na kasama doon sa criteria kung ano ang kanilang papel sa lipunan. Sa iba’t ibang larangan na kanilang kinatatayuan, ang mga guro na ito ay nagpapakita na hindi lamang classroom ang kanilang pinagtuturuan, kundi pati na din ang buong komunidad at buong bansa. (This is not just about classroom teaching. In the criteria, you will see the teachers’ contribution in the society. In their field, these mentors showed that it’s not only the students in the classroom they teach but also the whole community and the country itself),” he said. 
The education chief believed that giving face to these exceptional teachers would serve as a motivation to other government employees to deliver distinguished service to the country.

“Ang pagpaparangal natin (sa kanila) dito sa Kagawaran ng Edukasyon ay isang pag-alala ng mga bunga ng kanilang katangi-tanging ginawa at nagagawa pa doon sa mga nagtatrabaho sa mga opisina. (Honoring these teachers at the Department of Education indicates that the fruits of their notable work will be remembered and lauded),” he said.

Among the 367 nominated teachers nationwide, only 10 were awarded. They were Fely A. Batiloy, Dr. Mitchel V. Rodriguez, Cherry G. Vinluan, Rodel C. Sampang, Dominique J. Maquiran, Dr. Maria Teresa M. Bautista, Marcelo T. Otinguey, Maria Lorna L. Garnace, Dr. Alfredo C. Robles, Jr., and Dr. Emilyn Q. Espiritu.

The award inspired and encouraged the teachers to continue performing their role in shaping and honing the abilities and talents of the learners and the entire Filipino nation. The annual search was implemented by the Metrobank Foundation in partnership with DepEd, and the Commission on Higher Education (CHED).

by Eccentric Yet Happy

By eccentricyethappy

Christian Melanie Lee is a freelance community manager/social media manager, chatbot builder, social media consultant, and web developer. She is managing her other blogs under lifestyle, food, music/concert, and Hallyu niche. Last August 2020, her first website project, Choose Khiphop is one of the news authority about Korean Hiphop. Five months later, she and her friends formed a podcast called +82 Khiphop Podcast. In 2018, she had her stint as The Itchyworms' social media manager which led her to do music photography in her spare time. A year later, she had a short stint as road manager for the local band, Join The Club. Currently working as freelance community manager and music photographer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.